Tags

, , , ,

“A walk will do more good for an unhappy but otherwise healthy person than all the medicine and psychology in the world.” Wayne Dyer

Did you know that the pace of our lives is about 30mph faster than it was 30 years ago?  Taking the time to break out of today’s fast paced, stress inducing world and stepping into a natural environment, is not only a delightful experience, it’s a necessity.

I recently spent a week in San Diego.  I enjoyed seeing my friends, visiting my Henrys/Sprouts  stores, presenting a seminar on flower essences to the San Diego Massage Therapy Association and stopping at the beach to watch a beautiful sunset.  Although I enjoyed all of these activities, I noticed how stressed I felt with all the driving and the heavy traffic on the freeways.

San Diego is a large city with some lovely parks, and the Pacific Ocean a few
blocks away.  However, these environments tend to be very busy with activities.
For me personally, silence is golden, it instills within me a sense of peace and calmness.  The sounds found in nature are so different from the noise level of the freeways and street traffic; when I’m in nature surrounded by trees, green plants and bushes, I feel nurtured.

When you’re in a stressful situation the best thing you can do for yourself, is to
go outside —rain or shine—and play for at least 5 minutes.

If that is impossible use Flower Essence Energy
sprays
such as Serenity, which will help transport you into your own private garden, or Tranquility, which brings the energy of the trees to you. Simply close your eyes, mist around your body, take a few deep breaths and feel the calm.

I recently read an excerpt from the book “The Nature Principle” by Richard Louv. It explains his groundbreaking research, anecdotal evidence, and compelling personal stories, to show us how tapping into the restorative powers of the natural world can boost mental acuity and creativity; promote health and wellness; build smarter and more sustainable businesses, communities, and economies; and ultimately strengthen human bonds.  Read more about The Nature Principle here.

I am off to play in the garden for 5 minutes, won’t join me?

“Becoming conscious of stillness whenever we encounter it in our lives
will connect us with the formless and timeless dimension within
ourselves, that which is beyond thought, beyond ego.” –Eckhart Tolle,
“A New Earth.”

